The Robert Linsley Trophy

The Robert Linsley Trophy is a competition open to all chefs who work in London Gentlemen’s Clubs.

Robert Linsley  was among one of the first intake at Westminster Hotel School around 1947. He then trained and became a hotel manager in various 5 Star hotels in the West End including The Ritz.

He then went on to become secretary of The Overseas League, a position he held for 20 years. After that he moved to the Carlton Club where he was secretary for 21 years before his untimely death in 1996.

He was a great supporter of chefs during his time as secretary at The Overseas League and The Carlton Club and he will be remembered as a bon viveur.

When the idea to hold a cookery competition for club chefs was mooted, it felt apt to name the trophy after Robert. The Carlton club provided the funds to purchase the trophy.

The competition is held bi-annually, and was originally held at Hotelympia. It is now held at Westminster Kingsway College.


 The Trophy Winners 

2000       Simon Camp                       Turf Club

2002       Neil Cairns                            Commonwealth Club

2004       Mark Leach                          East India Club

2006       Joseph Woodhead             Garrick Club

2009       Clive Jenner                         Garrick Club

2010       Richard Jennings              Commonwealth Club

2012       Michael Garcia                   The Caledonian Club

2016        Carl Hoog                           The Garrick Club


1st Place - Michael Garcia - Caledonian Club

2012 winner Michael Garcia with Chairman Clive Howe.